More Elevenses (Liebster Award Part 2)

The second part of the Liebster Award (I raise my glass again to the awesome Trails and Ultras!) involves getting to know each other a little better. Here are, therefore, eleven random questions which Trails and Ultra has put to me:

  1. If there were a movie based on your life who would play you and why? I’d love to say Juliette Binoche, but in reality it might have to be Franka Potente, as I’m not sure that Juliette would be up for all that running!
  2. What was the last thing you googled? The Cotswold Way 100 mile ultra. Yep, I’m having dangerous thoughts. Is anyone with me?
  3. What is one of your guilty pleasures? Mozart Truffles!
  4. What is something you know now but didn’t know then? I’m not trying to be all clever here, but doesn’t this refer to just about everything? However, I have recently come to realise that nobody is normal.
  5. What would you consider to be one of your greatest achievements? Getting my doctoral degree. A PhD is a bit like an intellectual ultra-marathon that takes more than three years to complete. I have come to the conclusion that many people have the cerebral capacity to get a PhD, but few seem to possess the guts, neuroticism and masochistic tendencies required to go the distance. I am proud to say that I am one of those few.
  6. What is the one thing not many people know about you? I have a hidden tattoo that only a lucky few have ever seen.
  7. If you could wave a magic wand and change one thing about your life would you? What would it be? I’m sure I’m overthinking this again, but just how powerful is this magic wand? Could it be used to bring about world peace or an end to all the hunger in the world? Failing that, I’d probably use it to whack some respect and empathy into a substantial proportion of humanity.
  8. What is your favourite Disney movie? It has to be Mulan. Come on, the girl has a horse AND a dragon!
  9. What is something you’ve never done but would like to try? Sword fighting. I’m a peaceful person, but that does sound pretty cool, doesn’t it?
  10. What is your favourite place to be? My friends and family often comment that I don’t depend on my surroundings to be happy, and I would agree with that. I have travelled and moved around a lot and seem to have a knack for finding genuine enjoyment in most of the places I have been. However, if I could be somewhere else right now, I’d probably pick New Zealand – just somewhere a tad warmer for the winter!
  11. What is your favourite blog post you’ve written? I don’t have a lot of posts yet, so it’s impossible to pick a favourite. However, I found the writing of “Long Runs are Mental” pretty amusing.

And finally, over to my nominees – here are my eleven questions for you:

  1. What is one of the scariest things you have ever done?
  2. What was the last movie, TV show or book that has made you cry?
  3. If you could chose anyone, who would you pick to be your mentor?
  4. If the world is to end next year, would you change anything about your life?
  5. If you were reincarnated as a pizza toping, what would you be?
  6. What is one of your favourite quotes?
  7. What would you name the autobiography of your life?
  8. What was the last experience that has made you a stronger person?
  9. What do you miss most about being a child?
  10. What story does your family always tell about you?
  11. Where’s Waldo?

liebster-award

2 thoughts on “More Elevenses (Liebster Award Part 2)

  1. Trails and Ultras says:

    Cool…and I’ve immediately checked out the cotswold 100 website- hmm looks interesting 🙂

Leave a Reply

