Taper Territory

I’m not going to beat around the bush here: I’m no good at tapering. Give me any training plan and I’ll hammer out the tough workouts with cheerful obedience. However, tell me to slow down and put my feet up and I not only lose that focus, but come dangerously close to losing the plot altogether. The closer I get to the actual race, the more I feel like I should be doing something (specifically, running hard); slowing down, on the other hand, feels as foreign, foolish and repulsive as eating fried insects on a stick.

My first marathon is now only fifteen days away, which places me squarely into the danger zone of metaphorical insect eating. I realised with horror that yesterday’s trail run was the last of my beloved mid-week 10km workouts. Don’t get me wrong, I fully understand the necessity of the dreaded taper: it’s when you funnel all that great training into a bottle, cork it up and spend three weeks shaking it with beastial vigour, only to pop the cork in unison with the sound of the start gun and explode onto the race course.  Thankfully, I have plenty of training under my belt which is ready for the bottle; I don’t intend to throw 14 weeks of lovely running into the bottomless pit of idiocy by failing to slow down now.

Instead of just sitting around and chomping on my fingernails, I am going to direct all that antsy energy at the many marathon related tasks which I have been neglecting:

  • Put some effort into dropping some serious hints in the vicinity of my partner in the hope that he will arrange an indulgent spa day for me after the race – one can always hope!
  • In the meantime, I should really stretch a little more and sign up for a sports massage or two.
  • My feet – toenails in particular – are screaming out for some love after the many weeks of abuse. I shall heed their call.
  • The pants dilemma still needs to be solved – that is, I need to decide which shorts to wear for the marathon (a recent 20 miler has revealed a disastrous chafing flaw in my favourite Nike racing shorts).
  • My newly acquired mp3 player needs to be filled with the tunes that shall ring in my ears for 26.2 miles. This is serious stuff.
  • I will investigate just how much chocolate can be consumed in taper times, by means of a personal case study.
  • Crucially, I still need to finalise the preparations for my trip to Marathon (as in, I’ll be starting my first marathon in Marathon, to run THE marathon from Marathon to Athens).
  • I need to stock up on porridge and Vaseline.
  • Perhaps most importantly, I still need to figure out what in the name of Pheidippides I want to achieve during the actual race (besides not dying).

Suddenly, fifteen days don’t sound like much time at all. Now that I have a clear chart to navigate the taper-territory (and chocolate!), I hope that my voyage across these treacherous waters will be much smoother than I had initially feared.

charts

6 thoughts on “Taper Territory

  1. jaymeball13 says:

    I always wanted that to be my first marathon. But it wasn’t in the cards for me. Not sure it will ever be. I’m 14 days out from my first full and have. A 20 miler in a few days… Then a dramatic taper. 9weeks 5 days from not running at all to full marathon……whew! I look forward to your struggles with tapering because it will make me feel like I’m in good company. 🙂 you seem to have a solid plan of action though!

    • Awesome, best of luck with your first marathon! Sounds like we’ll both be running our first marathons on the same day, just on different continents – love the thought! Yes, we can certainly suffer the taper together in spirit, I’m totally up for that. =)

  2. Trails and Ultras says:

    …and of course there’s the drop in mood during the taper due to the sudden lack of endorphins. Which naturally makes you a lot of fun to be around.

  3. Hazel says:

    I’m also tapering, i’m 10 days out from my first marathon – The French Riviera, interesting what Trails and Ultras says about drop in the mood, I’m well grumpy!! 🙂 Also, starving even though I’m not putting in as many miles, I’m gonna struggle to move if I keep this up for another 10 days….

    Good luck ! and to Jaymeball13 !

    • Oooh best of luck with your marathon too! Seems like we’ll all be running our first marathons on the same day, which is kinda nifty I think! I’m starting to struggle with the shortness of my runs – my mood is alright, but I’m constantly itching to run. Today I had to stop after 3 miles and felt like I’d only just warmed up…!

Leave a Reply

