The Greatest Metaphor for Life

“Running is the greatest metaphor for life, because you get out of it what you put into it.”

Never before have the lessons I learn from running and life in general been as similar as they are now.

In a previous post, I have marvelled at finding a renewed joy in running, now that the organised training for a marathon is behind me.

I’m discovering that with the loss of structure and no longer being committed to a cause comes a wonderful and delicious sense of freedom. And with freedom come new opportunities. I am free to run whenever I want, simply follow my heart to new or old places and do so for as long as I desire. I am learning that I am the type of person who is happy to take a risk and doesn’t get crushed by failure.

inspirational-quotes-4

It turns out that I quite like the thrill of being a little bit lost in the world. It opens up the possibility of finding new paths to travel, whether by running them on my own two legs or more an exploration of life in general.

And no, I’m not going to apologise for the positive and dreamy nature of this post, because that is who I am!

love-everything

4 thoughts on “The Greatest Metaphor for Life

  1. weallhavesomethingtorunfor says:

    Love this! The perfect motivation for today!!

  2. Jim Brennan says:

    Well put. I’m with you.

Leave a Reply

