Let the Storm Rage On

That’s it: I’m officially on annual leave for the next two weeks! Naturally, the weather is terrible, but I didn’t let that stop me from heading out for a cool, celebratory trail run. I was really hoping to find some snow, so that I could finally build my first snowman of the season. With that goal in mind, I ran up the highest ‘mountain’ in the county this afternoon. (Don’t be too impressed though, the highest peak in Fife is West Lomond, which at 522 m isn’t really all that high – the run from base to peak and back is about 12km).

Lomond Storm

Sadly, I found no snow on the peak, just some very wild winds and a hailstorm, neither of which lends itself to the building of snowmen. I only encountered one other person who was crazy enough to also be out -hiking- on the mountain trails in the middle of a storm in December. In typical British style, he made some comment about the weather as I passed him. Call me weird, but I didn’t feel like stopping for a chat while the strom raged on around us; instead I just shouted something about heeding the call of a hot chocolate and resumed my downhill charge – weeeeee. What an awesome run! At the risk of sounding like the good old Coca-Cola advert: The holidays are coming!

2 thoughts on “Let the Storm Rage On

  1. Trails and Ultras says:

    Ha ha this is exactly like my little trip to Bodmin Moor this week: very windy and wet but no hail!

    • It was great fun! There’s something really satisfying about running in crazy conditions (provided that our gear keeps us comfy). I’d hate to have to do speedwork in this weather, but for a wintery trail run, it didn’t disappoint!

Leave a Reply

