Lover of the Light

“In the spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt.”

– Margaret Atwood

Today, the inconceivable became possible once again. This evening was possibly more awesome than Christmas, New Year and the Winter Solstice combined.

Today there was finally enough light in the sky to allow me to squeeze a trail run in AFTER work.

I only managed to run 9km before I had to surrender to darkness once again, but I don’t care. A little staggering around in the dark has never killed anyone and more importantly, I managed to get safely back to my car without the need for any lights at all. That’s right – for the first time this year, I was able to run after work without having to resemble a renegade Christmas tree.

I can’t stop smiling. The seasons are finally turning and this is only the beginning.

Cambo Evening(As I ran, the sun set over Cambo)

14 thoughts on “Lover of the Light

  1. Awesome picture! I am just as excited that it is finally acceptable to run outside again with out having to wear a million layers.

    • Thank you! I still need my hat and gloves and two layers, and splash around in the mud a lot, but at least it’s getting a lot brighter. I have spent the winter running outdoors (which is great), but had to spend countless evenings running around the quiet but well-lit village sidewalks. It has its charms, but I am definitely at home on the trails! Slowly but surely, they are within reach again, even during the week!

  2. Along A Path says:

    I wrote about exactly the same thing this week! But now I am almost feeling nostalgic about those long dark winter nights. Happy trails!

    • Thank you! You know, I was pondering the joys of winter running the other day as well – and must say that I’ve enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would. I won’t miss the dark nights, but I know I will miss all the pockets. I’ve gotten used to carry all sorts of stuff with me on runs now (phone, mp3 player, keys, tissues, sweets, etc) and have no idea where I’ll fit it all in my summer clothing!

  3. Looks beautiful and will definitely light up my day πŸ™‚

    Keep on running…

    • Thank you! I am super lucky to live in such a pretty place with an abundance of wonderful trails to run. Like so many other runners, I’ve clocked most of my winter miles mostly on the roads, which I actually enjoyed a lot more than I thought I would. However, I can’t wait to be able to hit the trails again whenever I like, and it seems that time is almost within reach! So happy!

  4. Trails and Ultras says:

    Spring is coming πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  5. Angie says:

    Daylight is such a wonderful thing! All my walks with Kobi after work now are in daylight/dusk. Love it. Still waiting for my most favorite time when I hear the first robins singing after making their way back north and the first frogs. That will be a while yet (April hopefully).

    • I love to hear the birds singing in spring as well. As you say, it’ll be a few weeks yet. However, I clearly feel that things are beginning to shift here and I can’t wait for spring and summer. Winter has its charms, no doubt, but when all is said and done, I just love to feel the sun on my skin!

  6. val says:

    So gorgeous! I’ve been enjoying the extra light too! But on the opposite end, I can start my runs earlier now πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

