Run Training, Ultra Style

“I pay no attention whatsoever to anybody’s praise or blame. I simply follow my own feelings.”

– Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

I was thirty-seven kilometres into my long run on Sunday when I started to feel a little peckish. In an uncharacteristic move for this time of year (when I should normally be found pottering about some mountain range on Sunday mornings), I had simply rolled out of bed a few hours earlier and made my way from village to sleepy village along the local long-distance coastal path. One distinct benefit of this was in my moment of hunger, I found myself surrounded by a plethora of shops, cafes and takeaway restaurants. Thus, it didn’t take long before my journey saw me power-hiking along the waterfront while merrily chomping into a veggie burger, that classing “relentless forward progress” mentality firmly embraced.

Naturally, that was also the precise moment when my path was crossed by an acquaintance.

“Is THIS what you do when you say you are out running?”

While I can understand her bewilderment, I’m afraid to confess that at the time my response was limited to a feeble attempt to defend my actions, which – hindered by a mouthful of veggie burger – came out as nothing more than an incomprehensible mumble.

It was only when she was long past that I embraced the truth of the matter. Actually, my answer should have been: “YES! This is exactly what I do when I say I’m out running.”

And what is more, I am not even ashamed.

In other news, I did not get a place in the London Marathon. I’m thinking that may be a good thing; it may be the biggest party on earth, but I’m just not sure how the organisers would feel about me stopping for a pub lunch half way around the course…

Shake

10 thoughts on “Run Training, Ultra Style

  1. Trails and Ultras says:

    Not being able to stop for a pub lunch is exactly why I don’t enter! They don’t deserve you 🙂

  2. Jim Brennan says:

    I don’t know how the organizers would feel, but I’d gladly join you at the pub at the midway point. I’ve missed you, Fullmoonrunner. Be well, and stay in touch.
    jim

    • Hi Jim, it’s so lovely to hear from you! I will have to do better at staying in touch… things here are really good, I’ve recovered from my chest infection, had a great run at the Jedburgh Ultra and have just signed up for Transgrancanaria in March – eeeep! 😀 How are things with you?

  3. Louise Provan says:

    Classic! That is so funny! Did you have chips with the veggie burger?? x

  4. […] remember making new friends through blogging and being able to meet up with Danielle, Jaynie and Julia, as well as having a Skype chat with Kyla; I’ll remember the satisfaction of helping others […]

Leave a comment