Looking Forward… To March

March is without a doubt my favourite month of the year. It’s the month when the spring equinox marks the end of winter and the clocks change back to sanity. It’s the month when I can finally brush the dust (or snow?) off my racing flats and stretch my legs in the first few road races of the season. This year, in addition to all of this I’m excited to clock as many running miles as I can and add them to those of my fellow running bloggers in Kylabee’s Around the World Running Blog Relay. And if all of those cool things aren’t enough to ensure the awesomeness of March, it also happens to be my birthday month. You could call it the icing on the cake. Oh yes, there will be cake!

cambo snowdrops(Winter Spring is coming: snowdrops are lining one of my favourite trails)

I’ve got two big races to look forward to in March: the Inverness Half Marathon, followed by the glorious Rome Marathon.

The Inverness Half is my first road race this year, where I’ll put my winter training to the test. I have every intention of charging around Inverness with as much bestial vigour as I can muster on the day. My rampage might not result in a half-marathon PB, but it’ll give me a good idea where I’m at and what I’ve got to work with, running wise, for the rest of the glorious warmer months of the year. My target time for the Inverness Half is 1:45 – if the day is right and stars align I might aim for 1:40 instead. If, on the other hand, things start to assume the shape of a pear, I’ll be happy just to finish in under 2 hours.

Now I don’t know about you guys, but there’s a limit to my athletic prowess and I’ve got no ambition to even try and all out race a Half Marathon followed by a Marathon within a fortnight. As such, I don’t see the Rome Marathon as a race. The trip to Rome is my birthday present to myself; a little springtime vacation in the eternal city, a chance to catch some sun as the winter loses its icy grip on my home turf. I always love to run when I’m on holiday, so this particular city break will also involve a marathon length sight-seeing tour on Sunday morning. I have solemnly promised my physiotherapist that I’d run a personal worst in Rome, and might even take a camera on the run. And really, who wouldn’t want to earn a medal for completing and epic long run?

Finally, March is also the month of Kylabee’s Around the World Running Blog Relay (ATWRBR). It’s a fantastic idea, which involves a bunch of running bloggers (or blogging runners?) from all over the world to run together in spirit towards a shared goal. In order to share my contribution to this running extravaganza, I have added a page to my blog where I’ll declare all my runs, for everyone to see/marvel/point and laugh at.

If you are a running blogger, why not join us in our quest to run wild in March? It’s not too late to sign up!

14 thoughts on “Looking Forward… To March

  1. TartanJogger says:

    What a month March will be for you! Wow!

  2. Angie says:

    The Rome marathon is going to be amazing!! You have to take pictures (I like how you describe it as a long sight-seeing run). I’ve signed up for Kylabee’s around the world running blog relay. I just hope I’m back running more reasonable distances very soon.

    • Awesome, Angie! I hope you’ll be back to normal running soon as well, not for the relay, but for you! Due to the races and taper, it won’t be a normal running month for me either, but I’ll do what I can. 😉 I love the idea of the challenge and it’ll be wonderful to run with wonderful people such as yourself for a whole month, in spirit if not in person. As for tackling Rome with a camera, I’ll see what I can do! =D

  3. Don’t forget it’s St Patrick’s Day this month too! Birthday months are always extra fun and Rome sounds great. I’m headed there – although not to run a marathon – in September so any tips would be great!

    • St. Patrick’s Day! I think there’s just too much awesomeness in March to fit into one post… 😉 I’ll keep my eyes and ears perked in Rome and will no doubt have much to report when I return!

  4. Jim Brennan says:

    Good luck in Inverness, Fullmoonrunner. I was there in 2009 touring Scotland. The Highlands were invigorating. I’d like to go back one day and hike, and run. Stay well, and run like the wind!

    • Thanks a lot, Jim! I’m really looking forward to my first road race this year and will do my best to make it a swift one, to set a nice tone for the rest of the season! If/when you are back in Scotland I’d gladly join you on some running adventures in the Highlands.

  5. Trails and Ultras says:

    We have a very similar pace for half marathon, and I bet we’re the same for longer distances too. We should totally do an ultra together one day! I’d be most excited about the Rome marathon…try to take a few photos to share with us all 🙂

    • I’d be so up for that! In fact, I think we should try and recce the Cotswold way together at some point this summer – I bet that would be an awesome adventure! =D I think it’s not unlikely that I’ll attemt to conquer Rome with a camera… I’ll do my best!

      • Trails and Ultras says:

        I agree, even if we just meet up for a day or two in the Cotwolds and have a relaxing little jog around. We could try to do it in August. There could be cakes and ice cream 🙂

      • Yes, we should! Let’s look at some dates. =) And yes, there will be much stopping for cake and ice-cream I am sure. With a little running in between. Heaven!

Leave a comment